Start your Day with this One Simple Habit

Swaathi Sundaramurugan
5 min readNov 22, 2022

What do you do first thing in the morning when you wake up? Do you stand in front of your mirror and worry about your to-do list? Do you criticize the way you look? Do you feel anxious about a meeting you have? Do you want to curl back into your blanket and avoid facing your problems?

I have just one thing to say to you. You are not alone.

Most of the time we lose great opportunities just because we feel bad about ourselves.

Last year, I had an opportunity to attend a virtual job fair. Most of the companies that participated were on my potential employer's list. I spent hours researching the companies and what they do. I signed up for many 1:1 virtual talk sessions with the recruiters. But, I was not confident about myself and felt very unworthy. I believed that I was not qualified for the roles they offered since they required a few more years of experience than I had.

The day before the event, I woke up, looked at myself in the mirror, and said to myself that I can’t talk to the recruiters. I logged into the event’s website and canceled all of my 1:1 sessions. That year, many of my classmates (with my level of experience) who attended the event got job offers from those companies. I was shocked and felt terrible about myself for not mustering up the courage to attend the talks.

--

--

Swaathi Sundaramurugan

Data Engineer Intern | Graduate Student at Simon Fraser University | Full Stack Developer | Writer